Eddie's Football Blog

A bizarre look at the world of football, since 2008

Ultimate Elevens – Patrick Hennessey’s XI

Posted by eddiev18 on February 7, 2009

Here’s Patrick Hennessey’s Ultimate XI. Let him know what you think of it!

Patrick Hennessey, my old SquadGod Fantasy Football ‘Obi-Wan’, has shown his age with his team. Class all over the grass though. I wonder if old Lothar is still not smiling? I imagine so…

Patrick Hennessey's Ultimate XI

Goalkeeper: Peter Schmeichel – Peter Schmeichel – When he wasn’t pulling great saves out of his arse, he was bellowing orders at ogres like Jaap Stam/ Steve Bruce – v impressive.

Right Back: Cafu – Old rubber lungs has won every honour in the game. Last seen running up and down the wing for Garforth Town (current age 52).

Centre Half: Alessandro Nesta – In the most defence minded league in the world, he has distinguished himself as a really, really defensive paisan. Great positional sense, strong tackler. The only gripe is that he’s injury prone.

Centre Half: Rio Ferdinand – No-one ‘merks’ a striker like Jar-Jar.

Left Back: Paolo Maldini – You say Roberto Carlos, I say tomato. Actually I say Paolo Maldini – partly to be different, but I feel he has a valid claim to the position. My second choice would be Julian Dicks.

Defensive Midfield: Lothar Mattaus – For most of my childhood, I watch this one-man panzer division roll through various England teams – I don’t think I’ve ever seen the fucker smile – but I respect that.

Attacking Midfield: Paul Gascoigne – Someone once asked Gazza for his Ultimate XI – he said ‘10 Gazza’s, and a goalie’. I watched him play for Lazio once, and I think Dino Zoff’s gameplan was – ‘get the ball to the Geordie’. It worked. On his day, Gazza would orchestrate from midfield.

Right Wing: David Beckham – Not the fastest, but the boy can deliver a cross like no-one else.

Left Wing: Ryan Giggs – 1999 F.A. Cup semi final, Giggs vs Arsenal’s legendary back-four, hairy chest wig, stuff of legends.

Striker: Ronaldo (The Fat One) – The ultimate number 9. I had the privilege to see him score a hat-trick at Old Trafford. He got a standing ovation from everybody when he was subbed. I think he went straight from there, to Greggs the bakers for a steak slice.

Striker: Thierry Henry – It’s just like, my opinion man.

Cheers P! Great team mate. From a social perspective, Gazza and ‘Pies Ronaldo’ would orgainse a pretty decent Christmas party, I’m sure!

Let Patrick know what you think of his team. If you can think of your ‘Ultimate XI’, send it to me at eddiesfootballblog@hotmail.co.uk. I will put as many of them up on the site as possible. Before you do though, please read the criteria here.

Leave a Reply

 
